The Gift of Giving

As Luke and I have taken a little detour from our travels this month I thought I would share with you what we have been up to instead.  Stay tuned for more info on what else we have been doing this month.

We have been down in the Vancouver area since the beginning of November, the main reason being that my brother needed a bone marrow transplant, and I was a perfect match for him. I’ve known since 2007 that I was a match for him and that one day down the road he would possibly need my stem cells, but it seemed to come a lot sooner than either of us anticipated. It has never been a question in my mind that I would do this for him, and I’ve been surprised by how many people have commented on how good of me it is that I am doing this.  I found out that only 40% on siblings are a perfect match, and there are a lot of people who really struggle to find a compatible donor.

IMG_6337

I won’t say it’s easy being a bone marrow donor (although there is no drilling into the bone anymore, it’s done by separating stem cells out of your blood), there is a lot of time that goes into this and some discomfort.  Ideally you would be a male (or a female who has never been pregnant) under the age of 35 with nice big veins.  But there are a lot of other ways to help people if this seems a little daunting, donating blood and making sure you are an organ donor are big ones.

Anyway, today my brother is doing well.  The transplant was last week and so far things are looking good.  It’s been an honour and a privilege for me to be able to help him this way and I wouldn’t change it for anything, except maybe him not having cancer in the first place.   I guess what I am trying to say is (in the least cheesy way possible) cherish your loved ones and the time you have together, but also think about how you could change someone else’s life, or even save a life with a gift.

Lisa x

5 thoughts on “The Gift of Giving

  1. Well said Lisa. And with not sounding ‘cheesy’ myself – YOU GO GIRL !!! Glad Bro is doing better and glad that you could help him. Lucky you were an old an decrepit females specimen with humongous veins and an empty womb !!! Phewww!!!!

    Love ya’s both – keep safe and enjoy.

    Love to Irene and Dad x Go the Granola !!!

    Like

    • Beautifully said Lisa my nephew in Auckland doing very well after a 2nd stem plant transplant 3yrs ago. Our Best wishes to you and Aaron.

      Like

  2. My very best friend had a stem cell transplant last Sept and this past July we got to take trip together its was so fun,had her 1yr anniversary of the transplant and she is looking and feeling great ! I wish nothing but that for you Aaron and you are a great sister Lisa (not cheesy at all,I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes)

    Like

Leave a Reply

